1. You are viewing Orangepower as a Guest. To start new threads, reply to posts, or participate in polls or contests - you must register. Registration is free and easy. Click Here to register.

[Damn ADT] Where is the transformer?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by HeartLike_JohnStarks, Aug 30, 2009.

  1. HeartLike_JohnStarks

    HeartLike_JohnStarks Territorial Marshal

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    9,150
    Location:
    Streets got my heart, game got my soul
    For you guys have an ADT/alarm system, where would the transformer be located and what does it look like? I know it has a plug and the thing itself is supposed to be square-ish; but I can't find it ANYWHERE in my house. I've even looked in the attic, which is filled to the brim with pink , cotton-like material which made it really hard to find anything up there.

    So where else could it be?
     
  2. GoPokes82

    GoPokes82 Sheriff

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2003
    Messages:
    3,084
    look behind all of your clothes in each of the closets. My is in the entry way closet on the left wall.
     
  3. HeartLike_JohnStarks

    HeartLike_JohnStarks Territorial Marshal

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    9,150
    Location:
    Streets got my heart, game got my soul
    What does yours look like? The thing itself should be plugged into an outlet, right?

    Should it be pretty far away from the control box (with the backup batter in it)
     
  4. GoPokes82

    GoPokes82 Sheriff

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2003
    Messages:
    3,084
    I wouldn't think so. All of my stuff runs through that control box. What exactly are you looking for?
     
  5. HeartLike_JohnStarks

    HeartLike_JohnStarks Territorial Marshal

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    9,150
    Location:
    Streets got my heart, game got my soul
    Wait, so the TRANSFORMER itself is located IN the control box?
     
  6. GoPokes82

    GoPokes82 Sheriff

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2003
    Messages:
    3,084
    Not sure what you mean by transformer unless you are talking about the transformers on the power poles. To my understanding, my alarm system is all ran through the one box. There's a backup battery in the box, connected to the power outlet and to a phone jack, with wires coming in from the wall from the attic and the various rooms in the house.

    What exactly are you looking for?

    Edit - I've done some googling and from my understanding, the transformer is plugged into the power outlet. So, it's either there or if not (like my system) it must be builtin or lacks one.
     
  7. Erick

    Erick Master in the art of Gem├╝tlichkeit

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Messages:
    5,548
    Location:
    Yukon, Oklahoma:
    Have you tried calling that Damned ADT?
     
  8. steross

    steross OSU fan in need of hyper loop A/V Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2004
    Messages:
    14,854
    Location:
    Australia
    With a name like p33man why would you tell him to do what a woman would do?
     
  9. HeartLike_JohnStarks

    HeartLike_JohnStarks Territorial Marshal

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    9,150
    Location:
    Streets got my heart, game got my soul
    Nvm, I finally solved the issue without having to look for the transformer.



    ADT is still g**.


    Thanks for all the help regardless guys/gals!
     
  10. OSUCherokee

    OSUCherokee Territorial Marshal

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Messages:
    6,431
    Location:
    Home: Norman, OK----Currently: Afghanistan

    Another disaster averted thanks to none other than! Captain Qwark!

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page