1. You are viewing Orangepower as a Guest. To start new threads, reply to posts, or participate in polls or contests - you must register. Registration is free and easy. Click Here to register.

Deer Rifle / Caliber for Starting Kids Out

Discussion in 'Hunting, Fishing, Outdoors' started by InTheKnow, Dec 13, 2010.

1. InTheKnow

A/V Subscriber InTheKnow Usually Last to Know

Hello Everyone:

I've got to kids, a son (age 7) and a daughter (age 10). Until this year, neither of them had shown any interest in deer hunting. Now, that they're interested, I'm planning for next season.

I'm wondering what your recommendations would be for a good starter rifle / caliber. I prefer a bolt action and I'm not interested in spending a lot of money on this particular rifle ($350 max for the rifle alone). I'm also partial to Remington, but certainly open to other possibilities. I've heard that the .243 and 7mm-08 are both great calibers for kids (low recoil), but I've got no personal experience with either.

Thoughts?
  2. pokefun

pokefun gooner hater extraordinaire

I think the 243 is a great round. I have no experience with the 7-08, but would like to have one for myself. I bought my son a 6.8mm Rem SPC a couple of years ago and it is a nice rifle, but ammo is hard to come by. My son and nephew (both 11) have both been shooting a 25-06 for a couple of years now without any problems.
  3. Donnyboy

A/V Subscriber Donnyboy RELAX

A .243 is really really hard to beat for a kid. A 7mm-08 is one of the the very best whitetail cartridges going but doesn't have the versatility of a .243. One thing to consider is with the price of guns you may not be buying them many more rifles so an all around gun that hunt dear, varmint and has easy to find ammo is a solid start.