1. You are viewing Orangepower as a Guest. To start new threads, reply to posts, or participate in polls or contests - you must register. Registration is free and easy. Click Here to register.

Marketing majors

Discussion in 'Jobs, Careers, Networking' started by Carneyman14, May 18, 2011.

1. Carneyman14

A/V Subscriber Carneyman14 Amazing golf ball whacker guy

Anybody able to find jobs out of college that isn't sales?

Seems like that's all that's out there. They say they are "outsourced marketing" companies. I've encountered people who sell, Quill, AT&T, Direct TV, Spark energy, etc.

Most companies are either a base pay + comp or 100% comp for about a year then they promote you to something called assistant manager or a leadership role. then they want you to open up your own business after 2 or so years.

Is this normal for entry level stuff?
  2. Rand-0

Rand-0 Wrangler

I think it is that way for all business majors. I graduated in 2008 and accepted a sales position and hated it, my major was economics. It is a tough market out there, I am looking for a teaching job that seems to be impossible for me. Just keep looking and stay positive something is bound to come around.
  3. cowboycurt

cowboycurt Wrangler

I'm not a marketing major but I know some and only one of them was able to get a marketing job within a company.

What you would want to aim for is something within a manufacturing company & someone who makes large orders.

Aerospace industry is what comes to mind.
    Look at Tulsa, OKC, & Witchita for those positions.

If you work in an industry which sells small items in mass amounts than you probably will be working directly with individual customer sales which can be hard.

Manufacturers usually have a sales dept. which is responsible for the sales and contracts with buyers and suppliers. Much more stable.

I really wish colleges would rename their marketing degrees to "sales" because that is honestly all it is.

Marketing is sales.