1. You are viewing Orangepower as a Guest. To start new threads, reply to posts, or participate in polls or contests - you must register. Registration is free and easy. Click Here to register.

TW - Bo Van Pelt knows where he's heading, at home or on tour

Discussion in 'OSU Sports Forum' started by OP 9000, Jun 15, 2005.

1. OP 9000

Staff A/V Subscriber OP 9000 Administrator

Bo Van Pelt knows where he's heading, at home or on tour

By DAVE SITTLER World Sports Writer
    6/15/2005

Bo knows Tulsa. But how many around here know Bo?

Tiger Woods knows all about Bo Van Pelt. But few Tulsans are aware that the highest paid active professional athlete living among us is the former Oklahoma State All-American golfer.

"Other than a couple neighbors right around me," Van Pelt said, "nobody knows what I do for a living."

Van Pelt has plied his trade this year to the point he has earned nearly $1 million. He also played well enough two weeks ago to be paired with Woods in the final round of the Memorial Tournament.

Van Pelt, who is No. 45 on the PGA money list with $899,685, knows he's close to becoming one of the PGA Tour's most consistent players. He hoped he'd break through this week and become a household name around T-Town and the nation.

But after playing in four consecutive majors, Van Pelt's streak ended when he didn't qualify for the U.S. Open, which starts Thursday in Pinehurst, N.C.

So the Richmond, Ind., native is spending some quality down time this week with his wife and two young children in his adopted hometown of Bixby. He's also working on his game at his new "home" course, the Golf Club of Oklahoma, the magnificent
    layout 10 minutes from his house.

"I feel very fortunate to have played four majors in a row," Van Pelt said. "It's going to be weird not playing this week. But it just makes you want to work harder."