Bourbon Making

• You are viewing Orangepower as a Guest. To start new threads, reply to posts, or participate in polls or contests - you must register. Registration is free and easy. Click Here to register.
Mar 13, 2009
I recently bought my own bourbon "making" kit. In all reality I am using vodka with an additive provided in the kit, and aging it in a 1 liter charred oak barrel. This is my first try, hence the vodka and additive. However, I think it would be really easy to buy some grain alcohol and moonshine to get something closer to "white lightning" for my next try. Has anyone done anything similar? Thoughts?

Kabob1865

Lives on Steak and Refried Beans
Nov 20, 2011
Oklahoma City
I have one of these kits. My girlfriend bought it for me for Christmas. I will never try to make my own bourbon. I use the kit to age scotch faster. I took a 12 year old Chivas Regal blended scotch, aged it for 3 months and it actually tastes better than the 18 year Chivas Regal. I hate blended scotches, but the result if very drinkable.

It is super smooth and is warm in the belly. Despite the excellent taste, me and my buddies call it 'swish'. It will get you some kind of drunk.

Oct 10, 2006
Tuttle, OK
I recently bought my own bourbon "making" kit. In all reality I am using vodka with an additive provided in the kit, and aging it in a 1 liter charred oak barrel. This is my first try, hence the vodka and additive. However, I think it would be really easy to buy some grain alcohol and moonshine to get something closer to "white lightning" for my next try. Has anyone done anything similar? Thoughts?
Good luck with this. If there's an explosion related to this is it a safe assumption that you failed?:D

Kabob1865

Nov 20, 2011
Oklahoma City
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1369234788.769725.jpg